The Political Speechwriter’s Life

The New York Times column Draft features essays by grammarians, historians, linguists, journalists, novelists and others on the art of writing and why a well-crafted sentence matters more than ever in the digital age.

Author of The Political Speechwriter’s Companion reflects on his career, writing influences, and the art of a well-written speech.

I have passed no bill, stopped no war, created no policy that would bring health insurance to a single person. But if we expect to see such results solely from our work, that dooms many to disappointment. There’s plenty to celebrate about being part of the team.

As a speechwriter in the House, Senate and White House, I wrote about 25,000 words a month — as much as three books each year. I cherish the four novels I wrote. But I am also proud that when Al Gore spoke at Nelson Mandela’s inauguration, he read my words. I’ve written a eulogy for Rosa Parks, speeches against a war I hated and for presidential candidates I loved. I’ve written about ways to educate children in the United States and to save the lives of children in Africa. At a Rose Garden event where Mr. Gore introduced President Bill Clinton, a photographer snapped a picture of Gore whispering to my son, “He wrote the president’s speech, too.” Read more

Originally Published in The New York Times, November 3, 2012.

Leave a comment